We provide the opportunity for healthcare support workers to pursue life-long learning.

Care certificate

As part of a national programme, all healthcare support workers (HCSWs) must complete the Care Certificate within three months of employment. We have developed a programme for our staff based on national standards. The course has been created to ensure HCSWs learn the correct skills and knowledge to do their job well. HCSWs are required to develop, understand and demonstrate 15 competencies. To do this they must:

  • Complete the Trust’s induction and fundamental care course, which lasts one week
  • Complete the Trust’s induction e-learning modules
  • Complete a competency booklet specific to their area of work.

All members of staff who successfully complete the Care Certificate are invited to attend our award ceremony where they will be presented with their award.

Apprenticeship programme

The Trust provides an apprenticeship programme for healthcare support workers (HCSWs) who do not have a recognised vocational qualification. Staff who successfully complete the programme achieve either a level two or three Edexcel BTEC diploma, which includes:

  • Diploma in clinical healthcare support
  • BTEC extended award in work skills
  • Numeracy and literacy qualifications

The programme comprises of 13 study days over an 18-month period, as well as on the job training. There are 100 places available to undertake the programme each year.
HCSWs are provided with information about the programme during their induction.


Healthcare support workers (HCSWs) are provided with experienced mentors working in the same clinical role/ area to support the development of knowledge and skills required to undertake the role.

The Trust has a dedicated Learning Environment Lead for HCSWS.