Trust welcomes new non-executive directors

Kay Boycott and Nicola Horlick* have been appointed non-executive directors of Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust alongside Dr Ben Maruthappu who will be joining as an associate non-executive director. They will take up their positions from 1 September 2019.

Kay Boycott is currently the chief executive at Asthma UK and has a wealth of cross-sector experience in both executive and non-executive roles including the NHS. Kay brings with her expertise in digital and technological innovation in healthcare. 

Nicola Horlick has an extensive career in investment management and is currently chief executive of Money&Co, a business lending platform. She has previously spent 9 years as a non-executive director at another NHS Trust and was vice-president of Unicef for three years.

Dr Ben Maruthappu is currently chief executive of Cera Care, a technology-enabled home care provider, co-founder of the NHS Innovation Accelerator and senior advisor to Bain & Company. Previously he served as senior fellow to the CEO of NHS England.

The new appointments follow the departures of Victoria Russell and Sarika Patel who left the board after coming to the end of their terms. 

Paula Vennells CBE, Trust chair, said:

“I’m delighted to welcome Kay, Nicola and Ben to the board. They are high-calibre individuals with a demonstrable commitment to and passion for healthcare. They bring with them a diversity of backgrounds and experiences, which will complement those of our existing board members. Their insights and ideas will help us continue our work to deliver outstanding integrated care for our patients. I look forward to working with them over the coming years.

“I would like to thank Victoria and Sarika for their work and dedication to their role as non-executive directors at the Trust.”

*Addendum: Nicola Horlick has not yet taken up her role as a non-executive director as she is standing as a parliamentary candidate in the forthcoming general election. The position will be reviewed in the new year.